Some of the leading minds in Cancer Survivorship are advising Cancer Survivorship Training (CST).  We are honored to be working with:


Helen Connors, RN, PhD, FAAN
Associate Dean & Professor, Integrated Technologies
Jean M. Hill Endowed Professor, University of Kansas School of Nursing
Executive Director, KU Center for Healthcare Informatics
Associate Dean for Integrative Technologies
University of Kansas, Kansas City, KS


Dr. Connors directs the use of advanced information technologies for education and practice, to establish policy for telecommunications and telehealth, and has been instrumental in the use of innovative technologies to develop creative programs to bring education, networking, and support services to nurses and other health professionals.


Carol J. Fabian, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Clinical Oncology
Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Chair
Medical Director, Breast Cancer Prevention and Survivorship Centers
University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS


Dr. Fabian is an internationally and nationally recognized leader in the field of cancer risk assessment and prevention trials. She is a board certified medical oncologist, has 30 years of experience in conducting breast cancer research and is the medical director of the breast cancer prevention and survivorship programs at the University of Kansas Cancer Center, and has had continuous funding from the National Cancer Institute for performance of clinical research trials for more than 20 years. She leads the Cancer Prevention and Survivorship Research Program and is the Principle Investigator for a number of National Cancer Institute funded studies, currently has a Komen Promise Grant, and has been awarded numerous other national and regionally funded clinical trials.  


Mary McCabe, RN, MA
Director, Cancer Survivorship Initiative
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY


Following intensive work as an oncology nurse and clinical nurse specialist, Ms. McCabe was named Director of Nursing Services at the Lombardi Cancer Center at Georgetown University Medical Center in Washington, D.C. in 1983. In 1988, she joined the NCI and, over the next 15 years, served in a number of key positions relating to clinical trials and the promotion of clinical research to health care professionals, the public, as well as payers and health care providers.  She served as the Acting Director of the NCI's Office of Communications and as Director of the Office of Education and Special Initiatives, which is responsible for a number of policy and educational objectives.  In 2003, Mary McCabe was recruited to lead Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center's Cancer Survivorship Initiative and since that time has worked to develop a comprehensive program for cancer survivors, which includes follow-up care, research, and education and training. She also chairs Memorial Sloan-Kettering's Ethics Committee.  Ms. McCabe has numerous publications in the field of cancer survivorship and has had ongoing funding from the NIH as well as other peer reviewed grant support.  



Debra Patt, MD, MPH
Medical Director, Healthcare Informatics
Medical Director, Pathways Task Force
Texas Oncology
Dr. Patt specializes in medical oncology and hematology. She is a partner in Texas Oncology.  She serves as a Medical Director of the Pathways Task Force and the Medical Director for Healthcare Informatics for the US Oncology Network within McKesson Specialty Health.
Dr. Patt completed her BS in zoology in the Plan I Honors Program at The University of Texas at Austin, completed medical school and residency in internal medicine and pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine, and  fellowship training at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in hematology and medical oncology in 2006. She completed her MPH focusing on health services research and cancer prevention policy from the University of  Texas School of Public Health.
She has special interests in breast cancer, cancer prevention, outcomes research and tobacco policy. Her research interests include evaluating quality metrics in oncology, health services research, comparative effectiveness research in cancer, and value based cancer care delivery.
Dr. Patt serves as chair of the Texas Medical Association’s Committee on Cancer and sits on the board of the Breast Caner Resource Center and the Advisory Council for the Texas Cancer Registry.  She serves as associate editor for Community Oncology.  In addition she is chair of the Breast Cancer Subcommittee for the Seton Family of Hospitals in her home town of Austin, Texas.
Dr. Patt is an ASCO Young Investigator Award recipient (2006).

Barbara C. Unell   


Barbara C. Unell is the Founder and President/CEO of the grassroots national nonprofit organization, Back in the Swing USA®. She is also the author of 14 books about healthy family life, including the August 2012 release, The Back in the Swing Cookbook: Recipes for Eating and Living Well Every Day After Breast Cancer, with co-author Judith Fertig. The creator of many national publications and nonprofit programs, she has been an educator and social commentator in national media for the past 30 years, including OPRAH, NPR, the New York Times, and Good Morning America. Visit


Mary Beth Warren, RN, MS
KUMC Statewide AHEC Director


Mary Beth has over 18 years of expertise in providing continuing education via distance learning and will collaborate to extend this expertise to users across the United States.  Mary Beth has been building partnerships with communities, health care providers and educational institutions to improve health care in Kansas’ small towns and rural communities, as well as overseeing the largest continuing medical education provider in the state.

For Healthcare Professionals

Cancer Survivorship Training (CST) provides continuing education and training tools to help healthcare professionals meet their professional needs and improve the lives of cancer patients.


Learn More


- AJMC highlights CST as a valued resource
- Genetic Testing vs. Family History
- The WHO Says Cancer Cases Will Soar
- AONN+ Announces New Leadership Council Member Jennifer Klemp